Elizabeth Yates Award

The Elizabeth Yates Award honors Concord resident and children’s author Elizabeth Yates, who was a strong advocate of reading and who supported library programs in the Concord community during her lifetime. Elizabeth Yates received the first award named in her honor in 1994.

The winner of the award is given the opportunity to recommend $500 worth of books to add to the Children’s Room collection, each book bearing a bookplate with his/her name. In addition, his/her name is inscribed on the Elizabeth Yates Award plaque that hangs in the Children’s Room.


The Concord Public Library Foundation is soliciting nominations for the Elizabeth Yates Award, given annually to a resident of the greater Concord area who is actively engaged in inspiring young people to read. This award, which will be presented at a ceremony in May, can be presented to authors, illustrators, storytellers, teachers, librarians or others involved in encouraging reading.

Do you know someone who has gone above and beyond to encourage young children to read? We seek to honor outstanding individuals for their hard work and passion.

    Your Name (required)

    Your Address (required)

    Your Phone (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Name of Nominee (required)

    Nominee's title and workplace (required)

    Why are you nominating this person? (required)

    Any Special qualifications the nominee has:

    Other awards or special recognition the nominee has received:

    Nominee's contact information: (required)


    You can print out the nomination form form and mail it to:

    EYA Committee
    Concord Public Library Foundation
    PO Box 3957
    Concord, NH 03302-3957

    Submissions for nominees are accepted from June through February. The recipient of the Elizabeth Yates Award will be notified in March, with a reception held in May.

    Past Recipients

    2019 Anna M. Allen
    2018 Clara Brogan
    2017 Jan Smith
    2016 Ellen Kenny
    2014-2015 Karen Broth
    2013 Ann Hoey
    2012 Janet Ulbrich and Lily, Brenda Kern and Sparkle
    2011 Marty Kelly
    2010 Jane Merrow
    2009 Cris Sokol and Autumn VanSice
    2008 Jeffrey Kent
    2007 Jayne Perron
    2006 Rebecca Rule
    2005 Philip Yeaton
    2004 Nancy Keane
    2003 Carol Berry
    2002 Mary Lyn Ray
    2001 Dina Abelson
    1999 Jennifer Ericsson
    1998 Jane Owen
    1997 Bill and Judy Egan
    1996 Donna Ciocca
    1995 Theresa Toy