Elizabeth Yates 2017 Award Winner: Jan Smith

Concord–The Concord Public Library Foundation is pleased to announce that Jan Smith, retired elementary school teacher from the Concord School District and continuing literacy volunteer at the Christa McAuliffe School, has been chosen to receive this year’s Elizabeth Yates Award. The award is given annually by the Concord Public Library Foundation to honor those who inspire young children to read.

During Jan’s many years of teaching at the early elementary level, she became known for sharing her “extraordinary depth of knowledge about books with young people” and engaging her students with a “dramatic flair for dialogue and sensitivity to the rhythms and beauty of words.” Jan continues to encourage young readers to think deeply and ponder through her literacy volunteer work. Most of all, Jan makes sure that children have access to great books, especially through that special passport: a library card.

The Elizabeth Yates Award honors Concord resident and children’s author Elizabeth Yates, who was a strong advocate of reading and who supported library programs in the Concord community during her lifetime. Elizabeth Yates received the first award named in her honor in 1994. The winner of the award is given the opportunity to recommend $500 worth of books to add to the Children’s Room collection at the Concord Public Library, each book bearing a bookplate with her name. In addition, her name is inscribed on the Elizabeth Yates Award plaque that hangs in the Children’s Room.

A devotee and avid promoter of the Concord Public Library, we are pleased to honor Jan Smith at this year’s Yates Reception to be held on Saturday, May 13th at 2 pm in the Children’s Room of the Concord Public Library. Family, friends, colleagues, former colleagues, students and former students of Jan Smith are invited to attend.