Seeking 2019 Elizabeth Yates Award Nominees

The Elizabeth Yates Award honors Concord resident and children’s author Elizabeth Yates, who was a strong advocate of reading and who supported library programs in the Concord community during her lifetime. Elizabeth Yates received the first award named in her honor in 1994. The 2017 award winner, Jan Smith, is a retired elementary school teacher from the Concord School District and continuing literacy volunteer at the Christa McAuliffe School.

The winner of the award is given the opportunity to recommend $500 worth of books to add to the Children’s Room collection, each book bearing a bookplate with his/her name. In addition, his/her name is inscribed on the Elizabeth Yates Award plaque that hangs in the Children’s Room.


The Concord Public Library Foundation is soliciting nominations for the Elizabeth Yates Award, given annually to a resident of the greater Concord area who is actively engaged in inspiring young people to read. This award, which will be presented at a ceremony in May, can be presented to authors, illustrators, storytellers, teachers, librarians or others involved in encouraging reading.

Do you know someone who has gone above and beyond to encourage young children to read? We seek to honor outstanding individuals for their hard work and passion.

    Your Name (required)

    Your Address (required)

    Your Phone (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Name of Nominee (required)

    Nominee's title and workplace (required)

    Why are you nominating this person? (required)

    Any Special qualifications the nominee has:

    Other awards or special recognition the nominee has received:

    Nominee's contact information: (required)


    You can print out the nomination form and mail it to:
    EYA Committee
    Concord Public Library Foundation
    PO Box 3957
    Concord, NH 03302-3957

    Nominations are accepted from June 2018 until March 31, 2019.